Tournament Recap: 2015 Joe Cronin Fishing Tournament

The Joe Cronin Fishing Tournament was held last Friday, August 7th in Osterville, MA. With over 70 boats participating, it was one of the tournament’s biggest turnouts in its 22 year history and helped to raise its total donations to the Jimmy Fund to over $5,000,000 since its inception in 1993.

With partly cloudy skies and 1-2 foot seas, many boats opted to head for the waters just off Sankaty Light on Nantucket, where big bluefish typically roam throughout the summer. Boats looking for bass stayed closer to Monomoy, but had a bit more trouble finding a consistent striper bite.

EJ Jaxtimer aboard Thresher was able to land a 14.9-pound bluefish to take top honors in the bluefish division, while DeWitt Davenport aboard Kingsbury found a very nice 26.4-pound striper to take that division.

The event is consistently one of the Jimmy Fund’s biggest one-day fundraisers, donating over $250,000 annually. Festivities are held at Nauticus Marine in Osterville and include a captain’s meeting the night before fishing, kids activities during the day, dinner, and silent and live auctions at night to raise additional money for the Jimmy Fund. For more information on how to get involved in next year’s tournament please visit



E.J. Jaxtimer/Thresher – 14.9
Mark Curley/Bull Shark – 14.4
Scott Wright/First Nichol – 13.8

Striped Bass

DeWitt Davenport/Kingsbury – 26.4
Eddie Osgood/Rosie S – 16.45
Carl Riedell/Stray Cat – 15.6



Jen Curley/Bull Shark – 13.9
Lisa Delia/Thresher – 13.35 (weighed in 1st)
Allison Krauss/Shelby Rose – 13.35

Striped Bass

Biannca Perella/Nauset Marine – 15.5
Katrina Savoy/Seaduction – 10.45
Pam Tosi/Trashy Thoughts – 10.15

Junior Division


Ricky Lotuff/Bull Shark – 13.25
Jackson Princi/Yellowfin Buzzards Bay Yacht Sales – 13.0
Carol Lee/Son Fish – 12.05

Striped Bass

None caught


Hose N Cuffs – Scott Wright/First Nichol – 13.8
Captains Award – Jamie Jaxtimer/Thresher
Sportsmanship Award – Sam Jaxtimer/Bull Shark
Best Lunch Award – Todd Walantis/ HyTail
Einar Gustafson Award – Dave & Missy McGraw